PDA

View Full Version : Electrical connectors



Bosvark
22nd March 2015, 15:51
Hi all,
So I'm busy setting up an E-BIAB system and while looking for electrical connectors so to disconnect my panel from the DB board I found this:

http://www.frontrunner.co.za/battery-solutions/battery-accessories/anderson-plug-50-amp.html

They're called anderson plugs, rated for 50A AC or DC, the 4x4 guys use them in dual battery systems and at R56 a plug. Only drawback is you probably need to solder the cable into the pins.

Anyone using them?

http://lghttp.28285.nexcesscdn.net/80BDD0/fr-cdn-za/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/5dc74d82bca00965bdea6e021c338056/a/n/anderson-plug-50-amp-ECOM045-1.jpg

Bryan
22nd March 2015, 16:33
Used them on our offroad caravan when we had it. You can crimp them if you have the right crimper.

Only problem is they are really designed for d.c. systems i.e. no earth.

SimonB
22nd March 2015, 18:27
I use them for my auxiliary battery systems. But as Bryan says, no earth. So no good for our brewing purposes.

I sourced panel mounts for my panel from communica. Will have to find part numbers.

Bosvark
31st March 2015, 08:55
I changed my geyser thermostat the other day and noticed that the geyser does not use the earth from the DB, meaning only live and neutral comes from the DB, the element and geyser is earthed to the copper pipes in my case.

So seems you can only take the and neutral from the DB, the just ensure you get a proper earth at your brewing stand. In my case i have old water pipes that runs in the ground near my brew stand, that should give a proper earth.

Then it is still viable to use brad harrison plugs.

SimonB
31st March 2015, 09:18
Just use these (http://www.communica.co.za/Catalog/Browse?search=XY-CC210-3S%20XY-CC212-3P) rated at 30A, and you can run a proper earth. You can't (legally anyway) equate a brewstand to a geyser

Bryan
31st March 2015, 10:43
I changed my geyser thermostat the other day and noticed that the geyser does not use the earth from the DB, meaning only live and neutral comes from the DB, the element and geyser is earthed to the copper pipes in my case.

So seems you can only take the and neutral from the DB, the just ensure you get a proper earth at your brewing stand. In my case i have old water pipes that runs in the ground near my brew stand, that should give a proper earth.

Then it is still viable to use brad harrison plugs.

Nope, you can't.

Bosvark
31st March 2015, 10:54
Just use these (http://www.communica.co.za/Catalog/Browse?search=XY-CC210-3S%20XY-CC212-3P) rated at 30A, and you can run a proper earth. You can't (legally anyway) equate a brewstand to a geyser

Thanks these will work much better!

Bryan
31st March 2015, 11:34
How much current do you need?

Bosvark
31st March 2015, 11:54
I have a 4500w element, so its about 20A. But i would like to leave space in case i upgrade to a 5500w, so 25A.
The connectors simon suggests seem really good, they screw together so you get a good connection.

Would 4mm cabtyre 3core cable be ok?

Bosvark
31st March 2015, 11:56
714
The connectors in question

Bryan
31st March 2015, 15:26
4mm2 cabtyre is fine. The only problem with those connectors is that they are solder connections and 4mm2 does not fit so lekker, I gave up and am looking for other connectors.

2,5mm2 is rated 25A so a bit borderline for 25A, however a lot depends on the voltage at your house. For example a 5,5kW element at 230V would be 22A. There will also be volt drop in the cabling.

My Camco 5,5kW elements are running at about 20A at 230V according to my measuring system (using current transformers)?? Still need to get to the bottom of this.

Bosvark
31st March 2015, 15:54
What do you mean the cable does not fit? Does the connection have a hole that the cable goes into?

Check your element resistance, should be around 9.5ohm. Maybe the element is not working on 5500w output, hence the lower amps

Bryan
31st March 2015, 16:37
It just doesn't fit well and I didn't want to trust it, maybe you can get it to work.

My elements are 11,2ohms which equates to 5,1kW and 21A at 240V. Go figure.

I would expect to see about 10,5ohms for a 5,5kW element.

SimonB
31st March 2015, 17:25
2,5mm2 is rated 25A so a bit borderline for 25A, however a lot depends on the voltage at your house.

Ok the 4mm2 won't work with those connectors. 2.5mm2 is an easy solder.

Bosvark
31st March 2015, 17:36
Ok the 4mm2 won't work with those connectors. 2.5mm2 is an easy solder.

But 2,5mm2 is too thin in my opinion for 20A? Do you agree?

medic
31st March 2015, 18:42
I had a few wiring diagrams drawn up a few days ago for the panels that I want to sell by a Pr Tech Engineer and for safety reasons they used the following wire sizes for a 15 Amp panel:

4mm for Live and Neutral (main wires inside the panel)
2.5mm for the Earth wire
1.5mm for the Live and Neutral that goes to all the switches etc

SimonB
31st March 2015, 19:51
But 2,5mm2 is too thin in my opinion for 20A? Do you agree?

Yeah. I'm using those connectors on 13A with no issues but while rated for 30A it's limiting factor is wire thickness.

medic
31st March 2015, 21:15
I have a few decent 30 Amp twist lock plugs available from Auberins. They are not on my website but I use them for the panels that I build as well as on my personal panel. They are expensive per set but they will give you years of use.

Bosvark
1st April 2015, 07:28
Maybe an alternative:
Anderson powerpoles, they are similar to brad harrison but these are single poles and they can be attached together. Also rated for 30A. You also get mountings for panels.

715

Also available from communica

Bryan
1st April 2015, 07:47
2,5mm2 is fine for 20A, it is rated 25A. As far as the BH type plugs go, I simply would not use at 230V, my advice, just drop the idea.

Medic please pm me the details of those plugs.

Bryan
1st April 2015, 07:53
I had a few wiring diagrams drawn up a few days ago for the panels that I want to sell by a Pr Tech Engineer and for safety reasons they used the following wire sizes for a 15 Amp panel:

4mm for Live and Neutral (main wires inside the panel)
2.5mm for the Earth wire
1.5mm for the Live and Neutral that goes to all the switches etc

Crazy, way oversized, I would have used 1,5mm2 panel flex throughout.