Klaus

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Klaus

Hi I'm Nik. I'd like to say my middle name is Klaus but it isn't. A good friend of mine after several beers decided that Nicholas should not be shortened to Nik and instead should be Nik-Klaus, which became Klaus and so here I am. It was funny at the time honestly.

I'm also known as the afrowelshman which was decided in even less hilarious terms.

But hey, we're here to talk about beer.

I've been brewing since about 2009 after my wife got fed up of me whining about how much better the beer was in Wales and bought me a starter kit. I promptly made a truly awful kit beer that I enjoyed every drop of and then quickly graduated to producing some reasonably tasty extract brews. I moved to Cape Town in 2010 and my homebrewing started to lapse mostly due to a lack of available supplies and the rising cost of malt extract and kits. Luckily I was saved by Beerguevara opening in Newlands just around the corner from me and I re-entered the fray as a dedicated all-grain brewer. Since then I've made about 15 beers in varying styles and am currently focussing more on simple recipes to understand what each ingredient does.

During a home brew swapping session with Simon (the administrator and moderator who must be obeyed ) the idea for a forum came up. I promptly came up with the name and then let Simon do all the actual work. And now that I've finally got off my lazy behind and started posting I'm really looking forward to sharing ideas with some likeminded individuals.

Ah a genuine taffy is it, trust you can sing. My folks are from Pontypridd and I have the same surname as a reasonably famous singer from there. I have sampled many beers around that way (my uncle is a pro), particularly enjoyed a Brains or two down in Cardiff.

First class name for the forum.
    "I’m Allergic to grass. Hey, it could be worse. I could be allergic to beer." – Greg Norman

Comment

Welcome Nik