Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Recommended starting equipment for small batches.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recommended starting equipment for small batches.

Hi all.

I've recently returned to Cape Town after living in London. Glad to be back, but crikey do I miss the ale
    and pubs. I'm keen to start brewing my own with dream of one day mastering the art of proper Cask Conditioned ales.

I'm a total newb and would appreciate any suggestions on how to get started. What would be the best starter kit to go for? Preferably one aimed at producing smaller batches ( less than a gallon ) so I can experiment with different recipes more frequently and also one that allows for storing the beer in something like a keg instead of bottles, can't be arsed with sanitizing and capping each bottle after every batch.

Cheers

Mark
    Markish86
    Last edited by Markish86; 16 March 2014, 18:37.

I'd highly suggest going to one of beerguevara's (www.beerguevara.com) workshops.
    They take you through the entire process, and it's a great way to get started.

Comment

Originally posted by MongooseMan View Post
      I'd highly suggest going to one of beerguevara's (www.beerguevara.com) workshops.
      They take you through the entire process, and it's a great way to get started.

I'll second that. I started there too and it was a great introduction to something that has become more than just a hobby...

ps....@Markish86....welcome to the forum!!
      Slainte Mhaith!!

Comment

Mark

Second going to Beerguevara, and buying on of their small Molatov kits. That's the way I started, and although my equipment has evolved, I still brew small batches for experimentation purposes.
        Give a man a beer, waste an hour. Teach a man to brew, and waste a lifetime!

Comment

Cheers for the replies.