Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2nd and 3rd brew- Wheat beer.

Good day all,

Im still relatively new to Homebrewing. Have been reading on the Forum a couple weeks now and got some awesome information. So firstly Thank you to everyone!

We started our homebrew by buying the basic from NFP in Emerentia about 5 weeks ago. this Kit came with a NFP Larger Extract. its been conditioning in the bottle now for about 2 and a half weeks. Had my first one over the weekend and wasn't impressed at all! Hoping it will get better with time, i find that the taste is lacking something, it has a very watery tasting finish.

So for my second brew i did some more research. I have a great love for Weiss, and thought i will give this a bash. I got a recipe from Justin at Brewcraft, aswell as all the ingredients.

So last week friday was brew day.

We decided to brew 2 batches. One with honey and one without. just as an experiment.

Our Ingredients were:

Brew 1-

1 tin Black Rock whispering Wheat.
    1kg - Brewcraft brew enhancer
    500g unhopped spray dried malt
    zest of 2 oranges
    15g coriander
    1 tea spoon pink pepper.
    500g bluegum honey
    1 pack - MJ Craft series Yeast - Bavarian wheat M20

Brew 2 -

1 tin Mangrove Jack bavarian Wheat LME
    1kg - Brewcraft brew enhancer
    500g unhopped spray dried malt
    zest of 2 oranges
    15g coriander
    1 tea spoon pink pepper.
    1 pack - MJ Craft series Yeast - Bavarian wheat M20

We put these into 25L carboys to ferment. We went away for the weekend and when we got home this morning got quite a shock at how vigorously it fermented over the weekend. we decided to put blow- off tubes and good thing we did becuase we would have had huge mess if we didnt. Blow offs are now off and we put airlocks on.
    It is fermetning at 18 - 20 degrees C.

Any input would be appreciated. I have a few questions regarding this brew. i know there are lots of people on here with extensive knowledge.

Q1.